You are in: OneThetford » Councils » District

Breckland District Council

Breckland District Council is a second-tier local authority, which is responsible for various amenities and services within the District of Breckland.

In particular, Breckland District Council is responsible for planning permission, licensing matters, household refuse/recycling collections, fly-tipping, street littering and dog fouling, and dealing with noise and nuisance complaints.

The council is run by 49 councillors, who are elected by the residents of 27 district wards:

Decisions are made at council meetings. The Council operates a Cabinet System, where a group of councillors from the largest party are given portfolios and then make most of the decisions in monthly public Cabinet meetings.