You are in: OneThetford » Elections » EU May 2019

European Parliament Elections May 2019

Official elections take place for UK Members of the European Parliament on 23rd May 2019. The MEPs are, in theory, elected for a term of five years, but the UK may well leave the EU before then, at which point our MEPs' terms would end.

In the UK, the election takes place in regions, using a form of proportional representation. Each party submits a list of candidates, and each voter is allowed one vote for their favoured party. Independent candidates can also stand. The seats available in each region are then allocated to the parties (or indepednents) based on the numbers of votes each received using the D'Hondt method.

Thetford lies in the UK's Eastern Region. There are 7 seats available in this region. Eight parties and one independent are seeking election.