You are in: OneThetford » Elections » General Election December 2019

General Election December 2019

Official elections take place for UK Members of Parliament on 12th December 2019. The MPs are elected for a maximum term of five years, or until the next General Election is held.

The UK is divided into 650 consituencies, with each one electing a single MP, using the First Past the Post voting system. Each voter had a single vote and the candidate who receives the greatest number of votes in each consituency wins. Thetford lies in the South West Norfolk Consitituency, which also includes the settlements of Downham Market and Swaffham.


Candidate Party Votes Share
TRUSS, Elizabeth Mary Conservative Party Candidate 35,507 68.75%
BLAKE, Emily Louise Labour Party 9,312 18.03%
RATCLIFFE, Josie Liberal Democrats 4,166 8.07%
DEVULAPALLI, Pallavi Green Party 1,645 3.18%
OF OUTWELL, Earl Elvis Official Monster Raving Loony Party 836 1.62%

Elizabeth Truss was duly elected as the MP for the South West Norfolk Constituency.