You are in: OneThetford » Councils

Thetford Councils

The town of Thetford lies within a county that uses a three-tier system of local government. This means that residents elect councillors to three different councils, each of which has responsibility for the provision of different services.

Parish / Town Level

The majority of the town of Thetford, along with some of the surrounding countryside, forms the Parish of Thetford, whose parish-level council is Thetford Town Council. Two sets of houses on the edge of the town actually lie in neighbouring parishes, which have their own parish councils. Arlington Way (on the east edge of Thetford) lies in the parish of Kilverstone. Hill House Lane and Heathlands Drive (on the north edge of Thetford) lies in Croxton Parish.

Responsibilities of parish-level councils vary, but amongst other things, Thetford Town Council looks after the various public toilets in the town, the cemetery, the allotments, the Guildhall and Carnegie Rooms Complex, the various commons, siting (though not emptying) litter and dog waste bins, Castle Park, and most of the children's playgrounds.

District Level

Thetford lies within the district of Breckland, which has a district-level council.

Amongst other things, district-level councils are responsible for planning permission, licensing matters, household refuse/recycling collections, emptying publuc litter and dog-waste bins, fly-tipping, street littering, dog fouling, and dealing with noise and nuisance complaints.

County Level

Thetford lies within the county of Norfolk, which has a county-level council.

Amongst other things, county-level councils are responsible for highways, potholes, education, fire and rescue services, and adult social care.

Greater Thetford Partnership

The Greater Thetford Partnership is a joint venture between the councils covering the Greater Thetford Area. Regular meetings are held between COuncillors, and a jointly funded Partership Officer helps coordinate work.

Boundary Reviews

In late 2017, Thetford Town Council requested a "Community Governance Review" to consider changing the boundary of the Parish of Thetford so that the new houses would lie in Thetford Parish. Breckland District Council agreed to carry out this review, and it was then decided to make some changes to the boundaries of Thetford and Croxton Parishes. For further details see the link below: