You are in: OneThetford » Councils » Town

Thetford Town Council

Thetford Town Council is a parish-level council, which is responsible for various amenities and services within the Civil Parish of Thetford.

In particular, Thetford Town Council looks after the various public toilets in the town, the cemetery, the allotments, the Guildhall and Carnegie Rooms Complex, the various commons, siting (though not emptying) litter and dog waste bins, Castle Park, and most of the children's playgrounds.

The council is run by 16 councillors, who are elected every four years by the residents of the 6 parish wards:

Decisions are made at council meetings. The Full Council meets monthly in the Council Chamber at Kings House, and most each meeting is open to the Public. There are also a number of council committees, which have some delegated powers and make recommendations on other matters for the Full Council to approve.

The Council employs a number of staff, led by the Town Clerk Tina Cunnell.